Testimonials

Read what Picket Fence customers are saying


Well worth the money spent to advertise in Picket Fence! -- sold in 1 week, $315,000 (spent $149...saved $18,900)

-- James Euber, Waterbury Center April 24, 2017


It is great to have an option like Picket Fence to try to sell your home without a realtor involved.  Fortunately our buyers were not working with a realtor as a buyer broker so we are very happy about not having to pay any broker fees. Burlington $449,000 Feb 4, 2017

-- Terri Lessard, Burlington


Working with Picket Fences was easy and saved us money in realtor fees.

-- Karen Fossi, Colchester


My home in Thetford Center sold. 

Thank you,
Carolyn
-- Corolyn Lorie, Thetford Center


Buyers are from Vermont, this is the buyer we started with in early July. They put their house on the market and sold relatively quickly. We showed it maybe 6-8 times. This is our third sale through Picket Fence! (We are still in contact with the people who bought our cabin a few years back too).

-- Jean Avery, Enfield NH $589,000


44 Garden Lane - The property is under deposit, P&S signed last week (cash sale). Scheduled closing on Dec 2. Thanks for your help!

-- Mike Comeau, Colchester


The house sold in 3 days! Thanks to you it was so easy - I am 79 years old...if I can do it, anybody can do it!

-- Ruth Wallace, South Burlington


I'm signing a contract tonight! This happened faster than I expected; I ended up with more than one offer, so my buyers (who really want my house) offered more than my asking price. I was nervous about going this way to start, but I have to say, your 'How to' book and tips made it all very easy. I'm very pleased.

-- Sherry Soule, Stockbridge VT


We received full asking price! Very exciting! We are actually in the
process of buying our second home via Picket Fence...so we've sold a home
and purchased two homes thanks to Picket Fence!

-- Allison Plante, Barre $174,900


I did not even have the sign out yet! Morrisville $234,000 

-- Kevin Fahey, Morrisville $234,000


Picket Fence has been helpful, informative, supportive and easy to deal with. They make selling for yourself very easy.

-- Sarah Mason, Williston $290,000


I didn't even have the sign out yet! (sold from the web ad)

-- Kevin Fahey, Morrisville $234,000


1 DAY,
Not kidding... I listed online, and ONE DAY later, the first people who wrote to express interest in my condo ended up putting down a deposit. It only took extra time for us to sign a contract and all because I was away for three weeks. If I hadn't been away for that time, we would have a contract and deposit made three weeks earlier. The buyers let me know that they were ready to make an offer one week after they viewed my condo.
Thanks PFP!

-- Martin Maitner, Hinesburg (Lyman Meadows Condo)


We believe in Picket Fence ...  the buyers are from Pennsylvania they picked up the magazine on a Thursday, called us that night, viewed the house on Saturday at 1pm, went to lunch and came back 1 hour 15 minutes later to give us their offer.

-- Dencie Mitchell, Vergennes Sept 23, 2016 $339,000


Excellent process! Very happy with all the assistance I received when I needed it.

-- Kelley Christie, Burlington $318,000 Sold in 6 days.


Everyone at Picket Fence was so extremely helpful in assisting us get our home up and running online.  We listed our house on a Wed and by Saturday we had 2 walk-thrus, one of which ended up making us an offer!
Thanks again to all...

-- John & Debra Thumann, Waterbury $400,000


Awesome experience!

-- Lynn Mason, Waterbury ($285,000 sold in 2 days)


Picket Fence was so great and easy to use, if I ever needed to sell a house or buy one I would go through Picket Fence again. Thank you for offering advice and being able to answer my questions when I was unsure of what to do.

-- Jennifer Curschman, Cabot VT $159,500


The house is under contract with the only remaining contingency being the appraisal coming in at or above the selling price...I spent an ENTIRE YEAR listing the house with a realtor. So, I must say, Picket Fence Preview is absolutely the best way to go. It’s how I bought the house, and now how I’m one step away from selling it. Keep up the good
work!

-- Chad Heise, Calais, VT June 9, 2016


Saved 20 grand by selling fsbo! $299,900

-- Dorey Demers, St. Albans Town


We showed the house twice; both parties had found us through the Picket Fence Preview web site.  Obviously a great resource, along with your helpful book. $365,000

-- Horace Shaw, Winooski


Thank you for your services and great support. We would definitely recommend using Picket Fences.

-- Linda Rock, Laurel Drive, Essex Jct


It was great dealing with the buyer directly! South Hero $598,000

-- Valerie Swinchoski, May 30, 2016


The house is under deposit! Picket Fences was a great way to sell and we will recommend it to others! South Burlington $259,900

-- Shawn Thayer, May 15, 2016


The exposure from PicketFencePreview.com is amazing. I'm aware of 3 other condos in the past 12 months that were under contract within 10 days of the ad being posted on line. Additionally, 2 of the 3 had full price offers. Thank you PF! (Ledgewood townhouse, $169,900 sold in 10 days)

-- Emilie Crawford, Burlington


Helpful, excellent support as far as information, forms, tips.

-- Margaret Kane, Burlington April 18, 2016 $322,000


Sold in 1 day! Thanks we will use Picket Fence again. Could not have been an easier way to do things.

-- Reynolds Garnett, Burlington $439,000


Toni
We accepted a full price cash offer this weekend, the one and only day they showed it.  Only listed for 5 days. PicketFencePreview.com has the best presence in the area for people looking to buy and the owners are thankful for your service.
Kaylene & Will Corbell, Burlington, River's Edge townhouse, $173,900

-- Will & Kaylene Corbell, Burlington


We had an explosion of interest as soon as our house hit Picket Fence online and another when the print hit. This was more traffic than 6 months listed with a realtor, that really created the energy that was needed to sell the property. . Thanks for the service it worked with great results. Thanks again, Dan

-- Daniel Drury, Middlesex $295,000


I'm sorry that I forgot to tell you we sold our Lake House through Picket Fence in December 2015.
This is the second sale we have had through Picket Fence and really enjoy the results.
Thanks again, Emory and Nancy Meyerjack
-- Emory Meyerjack, Winchester NH ($399,000)


86 Brickyard Rd in Essex Jct was under contract 10 days after picket fence publication and closed on Nov 30.
Thank you for an excellent publication , the help your staff provided and an easy way to sell a home !

-- Robbie Gelb, Essex Jct


Thank you again for your service.  I will never use a real estate agent in the future.  Your book was invaluable.  Key words are "de-cluttered" and "squeaky clean".  The experience was...almost easy!

-- Ginny Wilcox, Grand Isle


I believe that I neglected to tell you that we sold our home during the summer of 2015. We had an open house the second day and it was under contract the very next day. Our home was 34 Starbird Road, Jericho, VT.


-- Joan Chace, Jericho $282,000


Just wanted to let you know we signed papers yesterday! Yeah, it worked really well. Selling to someone from California - his parents live in Hartland. Picket Fence has quite the reach. We had several serious buyers from California and even New Zealand!
Thomas Petrin, Claremont, NH Commercial Property $478,000

-- Thomas Petrin, Claremont NH commercial property Feb. 2, 2016


Picket Fence is an amazing resource. I have learned so much and appreciate the 'How-to' book. We have referred to it daily during this process.

-- Jim Tenda, Williston (Jan 31, 2016)


My daughter's house has sold! Picket Fence was great exposure. You made it really easy with all the guidance from your staff. Thanks.

-- Rachel Keysar, Rutland $145,000 (Jan 15, 2016)


Most of the people who inquired about our house or came to see the house viewed it on the Picket Fence website.  We found it to be a easy and great way to reach people.  Thanks for your help.  Our closing is in February.

-- Liz Soper, Stowe $349,000 (Jan 14, 2016)


We did 6 months with a Realtor... really, nothing was done, and nothing happened.   As soon as our house came out in Picket Fence though, our phone started ringing.  We're ironing out a contract today with someone who saw the ad in your magazine.  They're buying our land parcel for sale, too!   Thanks!

-- Lyle Sorenson, Rockingham, VT Jan 13, 2016


Your staff was great to work with.  Thank you!

Sold in 3 weeks, Winding Brook Condo

-- Dick Ploof, So. Burlington (Nov 23, 2015)


Well all I can tell you is that I sold my condo on Juniper Drive in So. Burlington this summer in 9 DAYS! for several thousand more than I would have settled for. It was sold by your website, before the magazine even came out. 

-- Gary Douglas, So. Burlington (Nov 20, 2015)


Hi Bill,

This is JC Earle from 44 Skunk Hollow.  We are one of the 514 sold (so far in 2015).  I just wanted to thank you...  I'm very happy with your service and will recommend it!

Thanks again, and if we need to sell our new house, you guys will be the first people I call!

In gratitude,
JC

 

-- JC Earle, Jericho $448,000 (Nov 20, 2015)


I received two FULL PRICE offers the first day I showed the house. Thank You! Shelburne $325,000

-- Cindy Carse, Shelburne, VT (Nov 5, 2015)


OFFICIALLY sold on 9/16/15. 
YEAH.

THANK you soooo much for everything.  What a pleasant experience this was..... I really did not believe you when you wrote in the book, that it is a pleasant experience & some people make friends with their buyers...but it is true.  I actually was invited to a BBQ at my "old" house Sunday afternoon..!!!  If I hadn't already had plans, I would go.  They will be life long friends. 

Thank you again,
Beth Perry
-- Beth Perry, Brandon (Sept 19, 2015)


Wow! Picket Fence Preview has really helped us.  We were listed with an agent for 7 months...it only took us 23 days to sell it through Picket Fence! Thank you.

-- Laura Bent, Williston (Sept 19, 2015)


After 8 months on the traditional real estate market, we moved to Picket Fences. We were delightfully unprepared for how fast things would move once we put our house online. We had two offers within two days. While we were able to drop the price for the buyer, we also made more than we would have with a realtor.
More importantly, it reminded me what a fun, intimate experience it is to share your house with it's future owners. We were able to talk about what it was like to live in the house, from enjoying the sunrise to our strategies for entertaining, that really sold the home. We also met some really delightful people in the process. (Fairfax $335,000)

-- Rebecca Towne, Fairfax (Aug 11, 2015)


It's under contract! I had a wonderful experience using Picketfencepreview.com. I had more than one offer in the 60 days it was advertised. Thank you! (Williston condo)

-- Barbara McGrew, Williston (Aug 11, 2015)


Granted the deal hasn't been finalized yet, but the whole experience of selling on our own has been amazing, fascinating, and rewarding in a variety of ways. Thank You! ($269,500 3BR home)

-- Peter Cosgrove, Rutland (Aug 11, 2015)


Thank you for providing me a website to sell my house to the perfect people.  This has been a wonderful experience and Picket Fence has excellent staff to assist ! I saved so much money and would recommend this to everyone!

-- Gretchen Berger, Westford Vt (July 24, 2015)


It got the word out there and we saved a lot of money on realtor fees. (Georgetown Condo $183,000)

-- Matthew Henchen, So. Burlington (July 21, 2015)


The couple who purchased are a lovely couple. This was our second experience with Picket Fence. It was equally as good experience. We met some great folks. We plan on putting our primary residence on the market next spring and will be back to picket fence

Best Jean & Dave

-- Jean Avery, Chelsea VT (July 18, 2015)


We had an open house last Sunday and ended up with two offers in one day!  We also had a couple phone calls with questions during the open house... I'm blown away by the interest! We're really happy to sell to people who want to farm the land, and have animals, that will appreciate all the property and land has to offer.

-- Heather Shelton, Corinth VT (July 9, 2015)


We had three buyers lined up total over the last two months.  Folks that had to sell their primary homes, had buyers pre-approved that they were working with, trying to get financing.  The party that looked at it yesterday, bought it for a cash deal. $315,000

-- Bruce Lang, Washington VT (July 1, 2015)


One week! Picket Fence works!  Thank you. Overlook at Spear Townhouse $199,000

-- Jim Manchester, So. Burlington June 24, 2015


Good morning Eileen,
Thanks for the call today and what great timing you have. We closed the sale on our house today (6/22). The open house we ran in March is when the couple that purchased the home came to view it. It has been a long process and my wife and I learned alot! Your publication is what brought us the buyer so thanks again.
Dave and Mary
-- Dave & Mary Carpenter, Vergennes June 24, 2015


Hi Toni-

Would you please list me property as "sold" on the website?  I'm still getting calls. I'm thrilled to be in my
new home having closed on Friday. Thanks to Picket Fence for the support!
Couldn't have done it without you!

Sheila (June 15, 2015, $425,000)

-- Sheila Soule, Waterbury Center


Within 2 days of listing our property, we had two showings.  Both parties brought offers and a third party also was interested.  We had a signed contract above list price within 7 days of listing on Picket Fence.  This is the second time we've used Picket Fence to sell and we'd definitely use them again! June 10, 2015

-- Rachael Beuchler, Moretown $259,000


We are happy to announce that we have SOLD our Shelburne, Vt. property because of having an ad in the Picket Fence!

Thank you to all for your encouragement, ideas, feedback & excellent customer service!

Thanks again!

Todd & Victoria Bray
8.32 acres, $349,000

-- Todd & Victoria Bray, Shelburne (May 18, 2015)


Within 2 1/2 weeks I had two offers!

$464,000 townhouse

-- Diane Carter, Middlebury May 14, 2015


Hi Bill,
Our home at 114 Robinson Parkway sold. We just closed the deal this afternoon.
Thank you,
Julia
-- Julia Mellonii, Burlington $394,900 (May 12, 2015)


This was very stressful for it was on the market with a realtor for a year and they did nothing - wasted my time so went to Picket Fence... Now we have a contract so happy! As long as you have a good lawyer you can do this...the tools from Picket Fence were great. Thank you and hopefully the rest will go smoothly .

-- Donna Fenner, Williamstown ($210,000 May 1, 2015)


This is the best site for home sellers (and worst for realtors!) around.  The family purchasing my home didn't have a realtor either....so I saved $28,200 in commission fees.  Thanks!

-- Rick Shebib, Essex $509,900


Selling one's own home is not difficult and does not require a realtor.

-- Kathryn Pedersen, Underhill $355,000


Picket Fence Preview generated exactly the type of attention we wanted for our property.  Very straightforward and pleasant experiences. (Under contract in 10 hours)

-- Winston Hale (South Burlington, $316,000)


We had posted 2 months on Zillow & Craigslist and did have some showings.  It was not until we posted online with Picket Fence Preview that we had a couple come that was seriously looking and put in an offer on our condo. (Under contract in 7 days, April 8, 2015)

-- Matt Noel (Colchester $171,500)


Excellent experience working with PF. great way to market a house.

-- Ellen Harris, Montpelier ($357,000 - April 2015)


Started getting interest right away - a bidding war was actually started. Got several offers through Picket Fence...and got close to my asking price

-- John Kelly (Charlotte Land $289,000)


Yes, we just sold our house. all of a sudden there was a bidding frenzy. do you have an "under contract " sign?  I would love for others to drive by the house and see a Picket Fence for sale by owner "under contract" sign. Once we close, I will update you on the price that we sold for.  and we were lucky to not have to pay any buyers agent fee. Thanks for all of your encouragement!


-- Linda Dwyer, Hanover ($847,000)


A positive experience with Picket Fence from the get-go. Buyers found me in the magazine.

-- Jan Grady, Essex $304,500


Very easy process so far. Would absolutely only sell by owner from now on.

-- Janet Allo, So. Burlington (March 3, 2015)


We sold our house at 28 Cabot Court and closed last Friday.  It was six weeks from when the ad was placed to when closing occurred! Thank you to Picket Fence… AGAIN!

 

-- Sheramy Tsai, So. Burlington (March 2, 2015)


Ad went on Picket Fence on line before print issue of 2/1/15.  Buyer visited after seeing it online  2-1/2 weeks later.  2-1/2 weeks later they came and made an offer after theirs went under contract through Picket Fences as well.  Total of 5-1/2 weeks to get contract with many decent showings in between.

-- Maria Burns, Colchester $309,000 (Feb 18, 2015)


Almost 600 hits in less than two months.  Second home I've sold through Picket Fence - we're very happy with the outcome.

-- Ian Smith, West Lebanon NH (Feb 16, 2015)


Didn't expect our house to sell so quickly! Thank you Picket Fence

-- Troy Wright, Essex Jct (Feb 12, 2015)


Hi Bill, it didn't take us long to sell our house. We accepted an offer yesterday (full asking price) and currently working on getting the purchase and sales agreement.

We received a call less than 1 hour after you posted our ad on your website. We are not officially under contract but I will let you know when we are. Thank-you! We definitely did not think we would sell so quickly!
Sue Scheer Jan 7, 2015

-- Sue Scheer, Williston $419,000


Picket Fence worked like a charm. We had an offer within 3 weeks and sold it!

-- Patricia King, Waterbury ($350,000)


Bill..........We do have a contract (Oct 18) and are scheduled to close Dec 8.......all thanks to Picket Fence!  Buyer saw it on Picket Fence and unfortunately brought their broker which cost a little .  Thanks so much for a great vehicle to sell our home .  I would recommend Picket Fence to everyone!

Thanks........Bob & Sue Strang

-- Bob & Sue Strang, Fairfax ($279,900)


They made a verbal offer in the summer but need to sell their Colchester home. They went under contract through Picket Fence in October...both closings are scheduled for the end of November. Thanks!

-- Mitch McClelland, Milton $439,000


We have great news! Our house is under contract and closes mid-November. Meant to let you know earlier...the buyers (from Boston) did find it through Picket Fence. (Under Contract less than 30 days)

-- Jeff Blittersdorf, Cambridge $599,000


We loved advertising with Picket Fences; the experience felt very customer-centered and we were able to save enough in commission to make a decent down payment on our next home. Our buyer and others interested in our house were pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to sell without a realtor, and enjoyed the personal and up-front approach when the owners - the people who know the most about the house - were available for showings and questions. (Charlotte $434,000)

-- Julie Kelbert, Charlotte (Oct 29, 2014)


We advertised in your May & June issues. We received a contract within 3 weeks. The condo that we eventually moved to was being built and our buyers allowed us to remain in our home for 4 months until the condo was ready. The deal was finally finalized last Friday. Our house at 17 Kettle Creek Rd in Jericho sold for $359,000, $900 under our asking price. Thank you for the wonderful service you provide!

-- David Peters, Jericho (Sept 27, 2014)


We are very pleased with Picket Fence and our outcome!! Recommend it highly!

-- Janet Manny, Colchester September 14, 2014


Just want to let you know we closed on our house September 15th. Thanks again (South Hero $388,000)

-- Mike Miceli, South Hero Sept 21, 2014


I want you to know how helpful my husband and I found your book. It is invaluable! We learned so much. I am so happy it is part of the packet! (North Hero cottage Sold July 2014)

-- Bonnie Olson, Rutland June 23, 2014


Took almost a month for the first couple to look at the house but they made an offer on the spot.  Being as this was my dream home and what I had worked for all my life it was too damned quick. ($330,000)

-- Jeff Poole, Danville VT (Sept 22, 2014)


Lots of interest generated through Picket Fences, including higher offers after we signed a contract!

-- Jim Thompson, Burlington RedRocks Condo


Our house at 66 Terrace Street in Montpelier is sold...

This was an amazing experience.  We sold it to the first people who looked at the house.  Thank you for this incredible service you provide.

-- Martha Hicks-Robinson, Montpelier (Sep 10, 2014)


Selling by ourselves was very easy and saved us a lot of money. (Lake Forest Townhouse)

-- Jason Chin, Burlington (Sept 2014)


Holy House Sale, Batman! Our house was not the ideal family home and we needed to sell it fast. I wasn't even sure it would sell. We listed it at $247,500, and after 369 views and a score of viewings in 5 days on Picket Fences, a cash buyer found us and made an offer. That's right: 5 DAYS! 45 days later we closed at $241,000. Incredible experience doesn't even come close to describing this process. Thanks Picket Fences! You made my house sale easier than I ever thought possible! (Sept 3, 2014)

-- Melissa Bedor, Shelburne


I wanted to let you know our house sold! Yaay! Thank you picket fence!! We were at 860 vt rte 66 in Randolph vt 05060.  We closed on it August 15th.

-- Laura Baker, Randolph


I tried a local flat fee real estate company. Needless to say it didn't work. They were rude...my particular agent (S. W.) would not fix the wrong information in the listing...plus my contact info was not in their listing...what a waste! I sold in about 6 weeks through Picket Fence in very smooth process. -- Lia D., Barre

-- Lia D., Barre, VT


Sold to people who contacted us almost immediately. Sold for just around appraisal. Got 2-5 calls a week - $315,000 lakefront

-- Cathy Houston, Grand Isle


Thank you for much for all of your assistance. We showed our home 25 times in the week it was listed on Picket Fence. Your service is wonderful. Thank you! (Lake Forest Drive @ Oakledge $315,000)

-- Michelle Bell, Burlington


We have had a great experience with Picket Fence.  Listed with a realtor for over a year with no luck.  Listed with Picket Fence for 2 months (which allowed us a much lower asking price) and got over 2,000 views in 2 months and a buyer in the third month.  We are very happy that we decided to go through Picket Fence, and wish we had done it earlier!

-- Andy Talbert, Montpelier (July 20, 2014)


We had a lot of interest and 5 or 6 showings. The initial add on the web brought approx 50%, however, the magazine add should not be overlooked. People still like to pick up the paper. Thank you Picket fence.

-- Charles Vella, Enfield NH


I feel like I had a lot of exposure with Picket Fences and my ad showed over 1500 views in just 6 weeks online.  We posted a little too early (before we were ready to start showing) so my suggestion would be to be ready to show when you post because you are going to get some interest!

-- Kristin Welch, Colchester


Picket Fence Preview provides all the tools you need to sell your property and the visibility is excellent.  The For Sale sign and on-line listing complement each other to provide information to prospective buyers.  The poster style listing is also helpful for posting on community bulletin boards.  THANK YOU!

-- Barbara Farr, Averill Lake Camp


We were VERY lucky to have a P&S with the first person we showed it to. Claremont is an especially tough market.

-- Steve Nix, Claremont NH (June 26, 2014)


Another great experience with PFP!  The ad was viewed more than 850 times; the buyers came and saw the house and yard, loved it, came back again with their granddaughter, who also loved it, and made an offer.  All in 31 days!   I'm very happy to think of these new people taking over the house and yard, and I like to think of the eleven year-old granddaughter enjoying the yard and her two rooms upstairs.  Thanks, PFP!

-- Elizabeth Winters, West Rupert, VT


I was surprised at how many really serious buyers came to see the house, no tire kickers. All were respectful and easy to show house to. Would easily use Picket Fence again for sale or purchase.

-- Edith Ainsley, Underhill $403,000


So many people showed up to our Open House...all thanks to Picket Fence! It's been an awesome experience. I think more and more people are foregoing looking with agents because they don't want to be pressured

-- Roni Daily, Essex Jct $329,900


If we had used a Realtor, we most likely would have paid a 6% commission. Our asking price was $415,000 and that would have been $24,900 in fees! Our 'net' would have been $390,100, if it sold at full asking price. Another house on our street was sold through a realtor and it took over five months, at $11,000 less then ours and before Realtor commission costs! We spent $700 in advertising and we were able to negotiate directly with our buyers. We had almost 2000 online views (1996 to be exact) on Picket Fence in 60 days. Both party's are ecstatic and feel we both got a fair deal. This is my second time with Picket Fence and not the last.

-- Jay Overton, Essex Jct


Very happy I don't have to pay a realtor almost $29,000.

-- Robert Poratti, Essex $489,000


It was a very quick and pleasant experience.  The house was a good value for the price, and the first couple who looked at it realized that because they had been searching for a few months, loved the house and yard and location, and we close in less than 5 weeks!

-- Elizabeth Costlow, St. Johnsbury $125,000


Second time in 14 years. Has worked wonderfully.

-- John Herko, Essex Jct $339,000


Hi Bill
We had a beautiful closing yesterday. You can now mark our property as sold.
Out of State buyer, from Long Island, NY. Great guy! His wife is Australian. The local lawyers said it was a match made in heaven! They found us through Picket Fence after feeling unsatisfied with the realtor experience.

Thanks, Nicki and Caleb Abetti

-- Nicki & Caleb Abetti, Northfield VT


Thanks for all your assistance in selling our home.  Your website was great.  We sold in 10 weeks. (Burlington $332,600)

-- Laura Zettler, Burlington


We has a great experience with Picket Fence and will always use them in the future! We went under contract with in 10 days of listing our house with Picket Fence! (March 24, 2014)

-- Keith & Maegan Cutler, Essex


17 days to get an offer.  Saved over $8,000 in commission.  Love PFP!

-- Amanda Boyers, Burlington


In under 48 hours we had one full price offer and one above asking price.  Thank you Picket Fence.  A wonderful experience!

-- James Cornett, Shelburne (March 2014)


I wanted to let you know we do not want to renew our ad online in Picket Fence.  Our house is under contract and scheduled to close in 2 to 3 weeks! 
 
Thanks for all of your help.  It has been a great experience to sell through you.  We listed our house with you right before Thanksgiving and we had a contract in January! 
 
Thanks again for your assistance in selling our house ourselves.
 
Becky and Tim Jacobs 

-- Becky & Tim Jacobs, Underhill


I just wanted to let you know we closed on our townhouse at 109 Aikey Lane in Colchester on February 19th. We received our full asking price too! Our first home was found through Picket Fence, and we have sold twice now on this site. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Warm Regards,
Jenn May

-- Jenn May, Colchester


I wanted to touch base regarding our extreme satisfaction utilizing PF to sell our home: one of the best decisions my husband and I have ever made. I'd be happy to write a testimonial if you would like. We sold our home in four days using Picket Fence. Joyce Carroll

-- Joyce Carroll


We sold our house through Picket Fence for full price to the first couple who viewed it on the day the May 1, 2013 issue came out so we are well aware of what a great service Picket Fence offers sellers and buyers....our successful sale landed us happily in South Carolina just five weeks later! Don and Deb Nowakowski, formerly of Jericho.

-- Deb Nowakoski, Jericho


Hi Bill.
Just wanted to let you know we closed on our house (96 Birch rd in Shelburne) on 1/3/14!!!

Less than 1.5 months!
Thanks for your help. Thanks again for another good experience!
I'm good advertising for your business and will continue to spread the word!
Best,

-- Holly Whitcomb, Shelburne


This is the second time we have sold with Picket Fences, both times we found a buyer within 2 weeks of listing!  In fact, we had two offers in one day then a bidding war and ended up getting $5100.00 more than our asking price!  We would not sell a home any other way.   We saved over $21,000 in commission.  Thank you!!

Lisa Purinton  Jan 2014 $359,000

-- Lisa Purinton, So. Burlington


Picket Fence staff were supportive and helpful thru out.  Best way to sell.  Thank you.

-- Heidi Olson, Essex Jct


Our house is finally under deposit and is scheduled to close November 1st. Thank you and Bill for all your help and support...

-- Susan Tomat, Berlin Oct 14, 2013


Two days after posting your sign, plus 7 more interested parties after the magazine came out - I can attest to the power of Picket Fence!

-- Mark Sinclair, Waitsfield Oct 15, 2013 $415,000


My closing date is 10/28/13, so all is looking FANTASTIC! Picket Fence has been a wonderful experience for me. It has brought in many potential buyers - thank you all so much! You have a great little business there.

-- Lisa Holmes, Barre Sept 14, 2013


We had a custom home priced $150,000 higher that other homes on the sme street. Couple came to look, didn't say anything. Called 2 days layer with full price offer. They had been looking for 2 years and knew it was right the moment they saw it! A unique home needing a unique buyer - a perfect fit thanks to Picket Fence!

-- Diane Langlais, Duxbury, $405,000 Nov 16, 2013


My wife Joan and I are convinced that deciding to use Picket Fence is the primary reason we sold our place so quickly and got our asking price!

-- Philip Pelletier, North Hero, Nov 15, 2013


To begin with we read the 'How to Sell Your Own Home' book cover to cover and applied it step by step.
We didn't rely on a Realtor to establish a fair market price, but instead hired a professional appraiser to establish a fair asking price. As we moved forward we kept referring back to the book each time we had a question.

-- Philip Pelletier, North Hero, Nov 15, 2013


Showing our property was a pleasant experience. The 'by appointment only' aspect was wonderful as it eliminated curiosity seekers and for the most part we dealt with serious buyers.

We could have sold the property the first month however one week after advertising it our 11 yr old septic system failed and required replacement. We informed the prospective buyers that they would be getting a brand new state certified septic system and should look upon this as a reward for their patience.

-- Philip Pelletier, North Hero, Nov 15, 2013


There are a couple of observations I would like to make concerning the realty business.
First: In previous sales we always 'staged' our homes both inside and out to present the most favorable first impression possible. We always thought it wasd important that a prospective buyer could imagine themselves living there. We were in fact setting the property up to sell itself. This time (because we used Picket Fence) we reaped the benefits!

-- Philip Pelletier, North Hero, Nov 15, 2013


Second: It's occurred to me that the buying and selling of real estate is the largest monetary transaction that most of us will ever be part of. It's always puzzled me that it's a transaction where the Buyer and the Seller are kept apart on purpose by the realty agent. In the past when either buying or selling, I was told that I shouldn't talk to the other party as I could say the wrong thing and thereby ruin the agreement. I now think that most people would interact just fine. It's a case of the agent protecting their 'turf' and not wanting people to realize they are paying a large fee for something they could do themselves.

-- Philip Pelletier, North Hero, Nov 15, 2013


I had my house listed with Nancy Jenkins for 18 long months. After I advertised with Picket Fence I sold it to the first buyer with Picket Fence...about 1 week! We realized that an agent could not sell our house...we had to do it!

-- Fay Malouf, Huntington, May 18, 2013


I believe in Picket Fence, it took just 2 weeks to get my first good offer and I was under contract in a month. I know my house and no realtor could ever sell it as well as I can. I'll be coming back to Picket Fence when I need to sell again!

-- Terry Lambert, Milton, Oct 4, 2013


This is the third time selling (also bought one too) through Picket Fences...what an Awesome network you have.

-- Tina Ettenborough, Essex, Nov 15, 2013


Thaks for your email. I have been out of town for a week. I signed a contract last Wednesday! I don't need to renew my ad - Thank You so much for the wonderful service!

-- Norman Beck, Montpelier, Nov 11, 2013


I am really happy with Picket Fence! I was pleasantly surprised how well it went. (sold in 6 weeks)

-- Peter Merrill, Montpelier Oct 10, 2013


You get all the credit. My buyer is from Woodstock Vt...picked up a magazine on Nov 1st, gave me a call and I am under contract now.

-- Steve Lemire, Barton land, Nov 15, 2013


Realtor had the property for a YEAR! Put it in Picket Fence and had 5 serious buyers in 4 months. Now it's sold. Very pleased with Picket Fence.

-- Diane Cabral, Corinth land, Nov 13, 2013


We are signing on Monday and taking a deposit!!! Yay!!! Thank you thank you! This is the fourth house we've sold with Picket Fence!

-- Jess Voyer, Richmond $542k, Oct 28, 2013


Our buyer told us he had looked at 'hundreds' of homes before they found our. They came with a full price offer and financing approved! Picket Fence is the best!

-- Tom Crouteau, Barre, Nov 1, 2013


I like the informality of marketing the property through Picket Fence...there's no feeling of 'us' vs. 'them' in relation to the buyer that when dealing with realtors often happens. We received a full price offer and are very pleased.

-- Bruce Chappell, Peacham lakefront, Oct 14, 2013


We are under contract and will close on Oct 28th. Thanks for everything!

-- Donna Casey, Montpelier, Oct 14, 2013


They found us on the internet. They are from NY state moving to Vermont!

-- Don Miller, Burlington, Oct 3, 2013


Picket Fence staff were supportive and helpful throughout. Best way to sell. Thank you!

-- Heidi Olson, Essex Jct


Yup. Saw the magazine. Hooray. Cash offer, btw. Hallalujah!

-- Ellen Biddle, North Hero Cottage $329,000


I wanted to drop you a note to let you know we sold our property in Georgia and closed on it yesterday. Your company offers the sellers and buyers of real estate a valuable service at a reasonable price.  By using Picket Fence Preview instead of a realtor, we saved over $15,000 in fees. For the services a real estate agent provides, their fee has no justification.  We found the process as easy as selling a used vehicle. I encourage everyone to try it.
Thank you,
Floyd

-- Floyd Marcotte, Georgia (2013)


The buyers originally came to our first open house and we have been in negotiations with them since.  The house officially went under contract today 9/4/13. 168 Tracy Dr $218,900

-- Erika Aiello, Burlington (2013)


We closed on the sale of our house on August 12th. Picket Fence is definitely the way to go! Many Thanks.

-- Allan & Wendy Fisher, Williston


We had listed earlier on Craigslist, Zillow and other free sites...the three serious parties interested in the house all came through PIcket Fence.

-- Andy Jones, Burlington (2013)


Advertise on craigslist if you want to attract predatory agents and unqualified lookers. Picket Fence brought me my buyer within 30 days...and they were pleasant and highly qualified!

-- Jim Gray, Colchester (2013)


I had my home listed for 51 days.  I showed it 6 times.  I held one open house.  This process was excellent, and I would recommend Picket Fences to anyone who is selling their home!

-- Jim Gibson, St. Albans (2013)


I will be closing on a home in early July, so I no longer need to receive the auto alert emails.

Picket Fence is a wonderful service for everyone- thank you for providing it.

Best regards,
Jean

-- Jean Semprebon (2013)


Easier than expected!

-- Liz Joseph, White River Jct $200,000 (2013)


Wonderful! Five days, first showing, sold at full price to pre-approved buyers - what could be better!

-- Deb Nowakowski, Jericho $234,900 (2013)


Advertising with Picket Fence Preview has been a great investment towards selling our home. We had consistent and continuous interest in our property from potential Buyers that saw our ad on the website. This has been a great service!

-- Scott Loomis, Colchester $219,000 (2013)


Yesterday we signed an offer to purchase our home at 1215 Main Rd Huntington VT. By the way this was from the first buyer who responded to our ad in picket fences so our thanks to picket fences our home may soon be some one elses.

-- Faye Malouf, Huntington $289,900 (2013)


We are so glad we sold our home by owner and used Picket Fence.  We did not use any other listing, internet or magazine.  Assuming we close without complications, this is truly the way to go for home owners selling their home!

-- Bob & Carol Butts, Waterbury $435,000 (2013)


Picket Fence was fantastic in all the info a seller/buyer needs to know in selling property. Everyone we dealt with of the staff couldn't have been more helpful and supportive. You are a great company.

-- Janet & Richard Foster, Waitsfield $465,000 (2013)


Once again Picket Fences came through for us! This is the second property our family has sold through Picket Fences, and again, all went smoothly! Thanks so much!

-- Michelle Fongemie-Ercole, Essex Jct $264,500 (2013)


Hi! Our ad expired the day we went under contract. Please feel free to show the listing as "under contract" if you would like. Thank you for your service! This is the second home we've sold with you!

-- Lisa St. Peter, Winooski $229,000 (2013)


We felt frustrated at times and almost went with a realtor but we decided to give it one more time.  It worked!  We had three offers within 10 days. We're thankful for the times we called for advice from Picket Fence and they walked us through some changes. We're thrilled!

-- Cynthia Blades, Charlotte (2013)


Wow. Had our place on the market for two days, and had another Picket Fence Seller come see our place and make an offer the same day. Listed on Monday afternoon, had offer which we accepted by Weds. night.

-- Dave Baird, Colchester (2013)


Dear Eileen, Toni, and Bill,

Our home is now under contract with a serious and committed buyer. I’m sure you have heard this many times before, but it is simply amazing how much smoother this whole process is going without the interference of a real estate agent.

Best regards and thanks again for your help and advice,

Allan and Wendy Fisher

-- Allan & Wendy Fisher, Williston (2013)


We read the book, de-cluttered, cleaned & painted then priced our house fairly and had a written offer within 4 days!  We closed on our house within 30 days of advertising online! Our picket fence experience was great! Thank you!!  Nick & Sandy Todisco

-- Nick & Sandy Todisco, Burlington (2013)


Buyer sold their property in January through Picket Fence. No buyer broker involved in either transaction. Got to love it!!!

Williston $409,500 Sold in 1 day

-- Richard Beneati, Williston March 15, 2013


Within 3 days of our ad appearing on Picket Fence Preview we had 2 viewings scheduled, with the first viewer making an offer the very same day. We used PFP when we were looking to buy and can now also recommend it for sellers.

Milton $253,900

-- Andy Twite, Milton March 15, 2013


This is an excellent resource! Sold in one week to out-of-state buyer $389,900

-- Liz Jackson, Williston (2013)


I just wanted to let you know that our house at 2187 N. Williston Rd. in Williston sold on Friday.  It's great to have that done and thanks so much to all of you for your support answering questions, etc. during our sale process.

 

-- Allaire Diamond, Williston (2013)


Picket Fence helped make this a great experience!

Essex Jct $335,000

-- Liza & Jim Kilcoyne, Essex Jct (2013)


I just wanted to thank you and all the folks at Picket Fence Preview for the great service you provided to me as I became a first time home seller.  I put my house in Essex Junction on the market in mid to late September, received a full price offer in early October, and finalized the sale on December 21, 2012. The process was easy and enjoyable.  Dealing directly with potential buyers provided me great feedback about what others liked about my home; and getting to know the new owners through the selling process made me happy that I was leaving it with people who would love it as much as I had.
-- Anne Henderson, Essex Jct (2013)


Info you provided was very good.  All in all a good experience.

-- Lina Smith, Walden Vt (2013)


Hi Bill,

Our house is under contract and we are moving to Inman, SC. We close at the end of March. 

Attending your seminar, reading your book and having your team at-the-ready by phone has certainly served us well and saved us a bundle of money.

Many thanks,

Ron and June Fisher

Fairlee,VT

-- Ron & June Fisher, Fairlee VT (2013)


It only took 3 weeks and 1 day for a signed contract! We had a OPEN HOUSE 2 Weeks ago and that`s how we found a buyer. It happened quick! Thank you "PICKET FENCE " for the paperwork needed and the book. YOU saved us alot of $$$$$. So now we are buying our new home, and selling at the same time !!! CONFUSING? NOT REALLY.. We close on both next month..:) Grandview Townhouse

-- Mark Dastalto, South Burlington (2013)


Hi Bill, We did close, sold it in Oct. for $219,000.  We had other offers including the asking price, but the folks at this price could close in a month, and that worked for us.  We had it listed for a year with a realtor and I had more visits and offers in my few months with you.  Thanks, Wendy

-- Wendy Palthey, Hartford Vt Jan 13, 2013


We did sell our property through Picket Fence. Listed Sept 1st, under contract Sept 25th, closed Nov 30th. This was after 18 months with realtors. Thank You, Chris & Marilyn

-- Chris & Marilyn Clark, Huntington Jan 13, 2013


Hi Bill - The house was under contract within 2 months of listing. I purchased a beautiful home in Fort Myers Fl at unbelievable price compared to the prices in Vt, and we love the weather here. Listing w/ Picket Fence prepared me well for the sale, and like you write in your book and preach in your seminars, its doable and very easy!  I'm using my experience gained and helping a friend here in Fl to sell on his own...wish their was a Picket Fence here!
 
Anyway, just wanted to drop a note and make you aware of my situation - Thanks for everything, and Happy New Yr.
 
Ernie  

-- Ernie Betancourt, Essex Jct, Jan 12, 2013


We had the stand-alone cape in a condo village in Barre Town asking $239,000. We sold it for $234,000 within 3 weeks!!   Thank you for all your help and yes, we have suggested Picket Fence to many others.  Thanks again,  Bill and Roxie Spence

-- Bill & Roxy Spence, Barre (2013)


Hi Toni and Bill, I own the property at 26 Mahoney Lane in Milton listed for $389,100.  I've been meaning to get in touch with you because after only two weeks online, I had an interested buyer November 1st, before my house hit the magazine!!!  The interest turned into repeat visits to my house, then a contract.  We have just completed the inspection successfully and the couple buying is all set with financing!!  So we close on December 15th!  I wanted to tell you this great news as it is direct result of Picket Fence Preview's online service.  I have been getting many other calls as well!  Thank you again

-- Jennifer Maestas, Milton (2013)


We've been under contract since Sept 20 - but our buyers' financing took a long time. We were only listed with picket fence for about a month before it went under contract! AFTER 13 MONTHS WITH A REALTOR!

-- Erin Huizenga, Starksboro (2013)


I just wanted to notify you that we closed on the sale of our home (8 Wildflower Lane, Putney, VT). Our home sold for $370,000. We could not be happier. Thank you so much for the service you provide. Everyone has been extremely helpful. We had our home listed with a realtor for a year without a bite. We listed our home with Picket Fence Preview beginning September 2012 and had an offer within a month and closed on the sale November 15th! We saved over $20,000 that would have been paid out in commissions. Thank you!

Faith & George Terwilliger

-- Faith Terwilliger, Putney Vt (2013)


I had a good experience with Picket Fences.  Everyone that saw the house seemed informed and serious.  My buyers saw the house shortly after it was listed but needed a little time to sell their home.  Once they were under contract, they came back and submitted a P&S.  It was nice to deal directly with my buyers. Colchester $402,000

-- Denise Monette, Colchester (2013)


We advertised for six months. We had one buyer come out and he bought it!

Patience is a virtue...that pays off big!
Saved $24,900 in realtor commissions

-- Bill Fogg, Bolton $415,000


This has been a very positive experience for us. We received our first inquiry via email less than 15 minutes
after the ad was posted on the website and eventually ended up with three offers on the same day. We received numerous calls and everyone involved in the process was so helpful including the buyer who had himself just sold his house through Picket Fence.

Many Thanks to all at Picket Fence for your patience and understanding in dealing with all the questions that we were constantly asking.

Larry and Ginette Brainard, South Burlington, VT.

-- Larry and Ginette Brainard, So. Burlington $367,000


Well worth the expense. (Picket Fence is) An excellent resource for Vermonters or those would like to move to Vermont. I could not be happier with the experience.

-- Jennifer Overton, Essex $364,900


We wanted to let you know that we would not be renewing our listing in your magazine because we closed on the property today thanks to your magazine!  Everyone told us, including the staff at Picket Fence, that land was difficult to sell and it would take some time to get a sale.  It was amazing because we ran the same ad on the biggest internet real estate site as we did with Picket Fence and got no responses, but we had twenty three calls and a deposit within the first thirteen days that the Picket Fence issue came out.  As far as we are concerned, a Picket Fence listing is the only way to go when you have property to sell.   Thank you so much !

Sincerely,

Bill and Carol Tufts 

-- Bill & Carol Tufts, Randolph Vt


Our condo sold in less then a month and a half! We had a lot of interested people, and our open houses were very successful.

-- Kim & Brendan McMahon, Richmond Vt July 24, 2012


This is the third property we have bought and sold by owner. Every time the experience is wonderful The negotiations were easy and very collaborative and we found the perfect people who will love our home as much as we do. They were the first to come and see it and we had a signed contract in 12 days!!!! Thanks for all of your help and saving us so much money in realtor fees.

-- Cortney Cahill, Winooski July 15, 2012


We received an offer on our house within 8 days of listing it with Picket Fence. Within the first week we had at least 7 people call to view the house and numerous other email and phone inquiries. We're so pleased with this experience. The buyers were represented by a realtor but we did not pay broker fees and we received close to our asking price. I believe that all parties are very satisfied! Thank you so much for your help. You provide a wonderful service.

-- Pat Combs, Sharon VT July 17, 2012


Ad was posted online on a Wednesday.  Buyer came to open house the following weekend and then visited twice the next week and made an offer.  I didn't sign the offer, but within a week, he'd made another offer and less than 3 weeks later, I have a signed contract.  I had the property appraised and inspected prior to listing and that helped me as well as buyers.  It was fairly priced and moved quickly.  Over 800 hits on the online ad in less than 3 weeks!

Second house in two year

-- Eileen Rooney, Essex Jct July 6, 2012


I only showed my condo once, and the Buyers made an offer. One week later my condo is under contract.  The Buyers do not have a Realtor, so the negotiation process was quick, friendly, and actually fun because we're all new to this.  We followed the guidelines from Picket Fences (the book is invaluable!) and used the contract provided.
All it takes is an ad on Picket Fences...and ONE inquiry!
THANK YOU!!!:)

-- Melissa Westerfield


Yes…we did it! They saw it on the website. These buyers sold their home last fall through Picket Fence so its a Picket Fence Preview 'family' sale so to speak.

-- Alexandria Halasz, Braintree


Picket Fence helped make this experience very easy for us.  I hope we never have to sell again, but if we do we will use Picket Fence. Waterbury $459,000

-- Scott & Tara Rogers, Waterbury


My condo at TreeTop is under contract. That was really fast! I still had my Open House on Saturday and have two more couples on my back-up list if I need it. So. Burlington, $162,000

-- Maureen Golden, So. Burlington


The seminar is what enabled us to feel that we could move forward ourselves. Having our own inspection and appraisal enabled us to value our home at an appropriate price. A smooth transition. Thank you Picket Fence for all your help. The reading material is a must!

-- Mae Gilbert, Graniteville


This was a easy and productive process.  I listed it on a Wednesday and showed my place several times before my open house was scheduled. I sold my house in less than two weeks.  Wow!!!

-- Jill Webb


If you purchased your home in the last 5 years, you can't afford to pay 6% in realtor commission fees. If you list your home with an agent you will have to pay to move...the commission will be all of your equity and then some.
Do the arithmetic before you make an expensive mistake. 6% sounds like a small number, but it translates into a big number of dollars when you're applying it to the price of real estate

-- Real Estate Reality


Did 6 months with a realtor with no sale, then did 4 months with Picket Fences (at the worst time of year; Holidays/winter) and our house is now under deposit!

-- Harmony Rooney, Colchester


Had a great experience with Picket Fences, lots of activity and very easy!

-- Alicia Rubalcaba, Barre Town Feb., 16, 2012


What a great experience.  We loved showing the house because being there to answer any questions people had went a long way.  Real Estate agents know so little about the house, there is no comparison.

-- Diane Burrington, Barre


We're happy we stuck with Picket Fence and didn't waste thousands of dollars dealing with a realtor who we feel wouldn't have done nearly as good a job at presenting our house.  It took us six months to sell, but we priced the property fairly from the beginning and had a very detailed fact sheet attached to the "For Sale By Owner" sign as well. The fact sheet was important, especially for the drive-bys to either entice them further, or weed them out (if the house wasn't the right size for them, etc.). Another individual would have bought our house earlier if hers had gone under contract. We showed the house to 12 different individuals/couples and had several calls and e-mails. Almost everyone who saw it loved it, but most had a house of their own to sell first. We were complimented many times on our clean, uncluttered, well maintained house.

Thanks for the service you provide at Picket Fence!

-- Judy and Doug Powell, Williston


Hi Eileen,
 
After over 3 months, I finally closed on my house at 2 Beartown Rd, Underhill Ctr.  The buyer who made the offer in August had challenges with financing but was finally able to come through and we closed on Nov 22. 
 
Buyer was local and saw my Picket Fence sign driving by my house twice a day or more. 
 
I got my asking price (the price that I was advertising at the time of the offer) which was about $6000 less than my original asking price.  I ended up making about $16000 on the sale, $11,000 of which would have gone to a realtor.  I'm proud of the sale and thank Picket Fence for saving me so much money and frustration. 
 
I look forward to selling my parents' house in the Spring on Picket Fence. 
 
The workshop in April was excellent.  I don't know if I would have done it if not for the workshop.  Or if I'd attempted, I may have given up and used a realtor.  I of course read and referred to the book after attending the workshop, but not sure if I would have stuck with it if I hadn't heard the speakers.
 
Thanks.
 
Eileen A. Rooney
-- Eileen Rooney, Underhill VT


Hi guys,


Thought you would like to know that we did sell our house to a neighbor, and have closed the deal, (without a realtor!!
It worked out very well for us and the timing was just right as we had just moved into our new house about a month before the sale.
Thanks for giving us the fortitude and know how to get it done.

-- Burt Tepfer, Putney VT Nov 3, 2011


I purchased your book about 9 years ago. I followed the instructions step by step, and It enabled me to sell my house in Oregon with out paying commissions. I recommend the book to everyone that I know who is selling a house.
                                                                Sincerely
                                                                            Ed McShea
-- Ed McShea, Oregon


Thanks to my Picket Fence Preview I found a home. Thank you for this great service.

-- Roger Beaudoin Sept 9, 2011


I wanted to (finally) write PFP to share the news of the sale of our condo. My wife and I listed the condo in mid April and it went under contract in six weeks! The entire PFP staff was very helpful and friendly, and the PFP seminar was helpful as well. I would suggest you go into more detail re: the process of dealing with a buyer who is represented by a real estate agent. Yes we sold and are happy we went through PFP, (and would do so again), but the buyer's r.e. agent left an extremely bad taste in our mouths. Maybe we just had a rare experience... At any rate, I wanted to make sure you could record us as a SALE! Thanks again, please feel free to contact me with any questions.

-- Owner, Burlington Aug 4, 2011


Awesome support from Picket Fence!  We have sold by owner in another state but found your seller's seminar helpful and informative.  Anyone who is hesitant to sell by owner should attend to see how simple it really is.  Thank you Picket Fence!
Jon and Marie VanGuilder

-- Jon & Marie VanGuilder, Barre VT July 30, 2011


All of the people who inquired and looked at the house were from Picket Fence, not craigslist or the free press. Thanks Picket Fence!

-- Kate & Ernie Brown, So. Burlington July 28, 2011


Yes I did sell my lakefront log cabin in Averill. This is my second home I have sold through Picket Fence and I also have purchased property from your magazine. I'll be selling more real estate in the near future and I'll be using you again. Thank you ever so much - again!

-- Robert Chartier, Averill VT July 18, 2011


We just wanted to let you know that our house is under contract and our closing is in two weeks.  We listed our house in your April and May issues and showed it twice and the second showing made an offer!  We are so excited and the process has been a piece of cake!

Thanks,
Mike and Kristen

-- Mike & Kristin Ziter, Williamstown VT July 13, 2011


It has been a very easy experience!

-- Brenda Godfrey, Jericho VT June 15, 2011


We accepted a full-price cash offer for the house and land across the road. These folks spotted us in Picket Fence and will be turing our beloved farm into an organic blueberry farm. That makes us happy. Thanks for everything!

-- Judith Peabody, Worcester VT June 17, 2011


I'd placed a 1/4-page ad in the May and June issues of Picket Fence Preview magazine. The May issue came out on May 1st, I had 2 showings on May 3rd, and and on May 4th,an accepted offer at 97% of my asking price! Another Picket Fence success story! Not only did Picket Fence Preview bring me my buyer, but it saved me over $10,000 in real estate agent commissions. I continue to receive calls, but I am confident that this sale is "a done deal," so please pull my ad from your website and cancel & refund my June placement in PFP magazine. Thank you again for hosting the April seminar, which was enormously helpful, and for providing tools and forum that really, really work!

-- Nancy Frye, Townshend Vt May 9, 2011


We sold my mother’s house! I had 3 or 4 realtors come out before I
decided to sell it myself. We received more for the house than what all
of the agents told us to start at. We had the appraisal so we knew what
it was worth from the beginning.  - $1,500,000 Lakefront Property

-- Jeff Heaslip, Shelburne Vt. January 4, 2011


This has been a terrific experience.  We only showed our home twice because the second couple loved it and made an offer.  I think a large part of our success was paying particular attention to chapters 2 and 3 of the book.  It takes a month or two to fix up your home properly and get an appraisal.  We set the price 4% above the appraisal and the sale price ended up about 3% above appraisal. I was happy to have the buyers share some of the benefit of avoiding a sales commission.  It was wonderful to show the home ourselves on our schedule. Under Deposit -- 19 days -- $272,000 3BR Cape

-- Laura & Eric Buel, Middlesex Vt, May 4, 2011


Many thanks for your help with selling our condo in Williston. We had our closing yesterday so we've finished! We very much appreciated the help of Picket Fences and would certainly recommend your services to anyone. Thanks again! $192,000 -- MountainView Estates Townhouse

-- Greg Glade, Williston Vt. April 15, 2011


Working with Picket Fence has been great. We had a lot of interested generated from our ad posted with them, and will use PicketFence if we ever sell another home. Thanks, Leigh and Tim Lewis $222,000 -- 2BR Ranch

-- Leigh & Tim Lewis, Essex Jct


Thank you for your service. We've had a very good experience dealing directly with the buyer. $435,000 -- 4BR, 6.9acres -- Under Contract in 8 days

-- Tim VonReyn, Williston


Initially, we thought we could sell our house by posting for free on craigslist. We received lots of emails, but none of those leads turned into anything.  A friend encouraged us to use picket fence.  So we posted.  Most of our prospective buyers and the eventual buyer found us through picket fence. $222,900 -- 3BR New North End Saltbox -- Under Deposit in 37 days

-- Kevin Fitton, Burlington


Picket Fence has been fantastic!  We felt as though we had more than enough exposure between the combination of the website (internet ad) and the magazine ad.  We are thrilled to be under contract! $259,000 -- 2BR condo Upper College St - Under Deposit in 41 days

-- Jason Frank, Burlington


Within a couple of hours after my post was online I was called, we lined up a showing 3 days later. The next morning she called me and made an offer, we negotiated a price an agreed. 5 days later ( today) I have a purchase and sales contract signed and have a deposit... I will be your BEST advertisment and am in lending locally !!!!!! $224,999 -- 2BR home in South End - Under Deposit in 5 days

-- Lori McDonough, Burlington


We sold it! We had lots of response from Picket Fence Preview (more informed and interested than those who had seen the yard sign). $195,000 2BR house

-- Lauren Wilson, Burlington VT


Thank you very much for your help, my condo is now under contract and it won't be necessary to list it any longer.  You people were very nice to work with and although I was not allowed to put up a sign of any kind, people still found us from your booklet and online listings.

-- Peggy Emmons, Barre Vt


We were able to show the home to perspective buyers within 6 days of posting it on-line!!  What a great experience!

-- Penny Lowery-Lothian, Barre Vt


Your staff was very helpful!  Thank you for not only helping us advertise, but also providing guidance regarding working with a Buyer's Agent as a seller. Burlington $287,000

-- Matt Sayre, Burlington Dec 10, 2010


Hi Bill, Please! forgive me for not letting you know that my house sold
last April through Picket Fence. I had a lot going on for several months
and it has been on my mind to let you know so that you can add me to
your statistics. I actually had 4 buyers lined up and took 2 offers.
Thanks so much for everything. I reccommend your service regularly to
people using an agent. Best

-- Cynthia Braren, Ferrisburgh November 2, 2010


I had two offers within a month of putting my home up for sale.  One of the offers was a result of the Picket Fence ad.  The second offer -- which is the one that I accepted -- was a result of the Picket Fence 'For Sale' yard sign.  I also had a third party who indicated an interest in making an offer if the current offer fell through.

-- Carolyn Bonifield, Essex Jct $374,500 October 28, 2010


We definitely had a lot of buyer/broker interference, which was frustrating.  So many of the buyers get conned into using a broker. $385,000 Williston

-- Abby Trutor, Williston


A great service provided, which I highly recommend! $85,000 lot

-- Steve Lowther No. Ferrisburgh


We tried to cheap-out at first using CraigsList but all we got were losers who had no chance of ever affording our place in this lifetime. Once we went into Picket Fence we sold within 3 weeks and had lots of qualified leads. Burlington $415,000

-- Jim Carnahand, Burlington


Wonderful couple looking for a home closer to their children and grandchildren.  What a pleasure to do business with them!  We enjoyed the interaction with potential buyers and who knows more about our home than us!  This is why we chose Picket Fence and not a realtor...not to mention, no real estate commission!

-- Karen Fuller No Fayston


Another wonderful experience selling through Picket Fence!

-- Karen Yankowski, South Burlington


I would like to thank everyone at Picket Fence's for all there help and wisdom with the process of selling our home. The first couple that saw our home put it under contract. They saw it in the July issue and that was it. Thanks Again.
 James & Jill Desranleau 42 Andrea Lane Milton, Vt.
-- James & Jill Desranleau Milton, Vt.


Currently under contract.  Buyers viewed ad on the Picket Fence website and became interested, they became very interested when I posted an open house.  One of 4 couples who view the property and they quickly came back with an offer within days! Milton townhouse $182,000

-- Patrick Gallagher, Milton


Our buyer was 'working' with a buyer broker whi wasn't showing them anything of interest so they decided to look themselves and found us on PFP

-- Lewis Meier, Essex Jct


Hello to everyone at the Picket Fence office.

I am pleased to announce that yesterday we closed on our land sale.

The Picket Fence is definitely the way to go.  I took more than 100 calls, 81 of which were at length calls with seemingly serious potential buyers.  I showed the land to large groups of people on Saturdays for several weekends.  I had a back up list of 18 people who wanted to be notified immediately if the sale that was in the works failed for some reason.

Thanks for publishing and widely distributing such an attractive and well laid out magazine.

-- Debbie McNeil, Weathersfield Vt


Toni of Picket Fence was always extremely supportive, helpful, and a real cheerleader while the house was on the market during these dismal, financial times. The letters that arrived by mail and email were also quite useful in keeping me informed of trends in the real estate market. Thanks Toni!

-- Corinne Girouard, Hanover NH


This is our second house we've sold on Picket Fence in 4 years.  We've now saved over $56,000 in real estate commissions by using Picket Fence. Beth Loveless July 2010

-- Beth Loveless Williston VT


You're just plain stupid if you use a realtor to sell your house. This is the first time we've sold on our own and Picket Fence made it easy for us.

Keith Meyer Fairfax Vt

-- Keith Meyer Fairfax


We had our home listed with an agent for 1 year with no response.  After listing our home with Picket Fence Preview things really picked up.  Agents will tell you should not to be home for showings and leave everything to them. I truly believe only you know the beauty of your home and the area, so who better to sell your home than yourself.  We were able to answer any question the buyers had on the spot.  Thanks to Picket Fence for their advertising and all the information we received to make the process so simple and much less stressful, not to mention the money we saved!

-- Amy & Duncan Currier, Fairfield


Please unsubscribe me to the new property alerts at this time...we have purchased our dream home! This is a great service and we used it a lot!

-- V. Darby


I should have known better. I was convinced by a realtor friend to let him list my property (I was burned out from dealing with the state over an Act 250 Permit). 8 months later with nothing from the agent I needed to sell this house. I advertised it in Picket Fence and, you're not going to believe this,  it SOLD the FIRST DAY the magazine came out. Ironically my agent friend initially said that Picket Fence didn't have the reach that MLS did - based on my experience I would say that MLS doesn't have the reach that Picket Fence does!

-- Tom Wyckoff, Jeffersonville


One hour after Picket Fence posted our ad on the internet, we had an interested buyer. Ten days later, the Purchase & Sales contract was signed. From ad to sale - FIFTEEN DAYS!

Thanks you Picket Fence!
Chuck & Jean-Carol Dunham, Shelburne Sept 28, 2009

-- Chuck Dunham Shelburne


Picked up the magazine on July 31, saw a house I was interested located in Montpelier. Called and made and appointment on August 1st. Made an offer and bought it!

Now I need to advertise my house with you!

-- Brooke Pearson, Montpelier Vt


Realtors' own data finds FSBO’s sell quicker and closer to asking price than those listed with an agent

The National Association of Realtors (NAR) has released a report that concludes that people who sell by owner get closer to their asking price and sell more quickly than those who list with an agent.  NARs report 2008 Profile of Home Buyers and Sellers was based on a questionnaire of 133,000 consumers who purchased a home between July 2007 and June 2008. More>>>

-- Agents' own data shows Private Sellers perform better


I sold my Milton home for more than my asking price $495,000 vs $489,000...I sell all my homes through Picket Fence...it works great! - Dan Coolbeth, Milton Vt $495,000 SOLD

-- Dan Coolbeth, Milton


Thanks for your help and assistance in selling our home. It moved much quicker than we anticipated in this market. This is the 3rd time we've used Picket Fence and it is always a rewarding experience! We're moving to Cape Cod after the closing, best of luck! -  John and Anne Endicott, Arlington Vermont, SOLD $145,000

-- John & Anne Endicott, Arlington Vt


I was really impressed with the quality of the buyers that came to us (as a result of our Picket Fence ad). I used to be in the real estate business, and would estimate that 95% of the buyers were qualified to purchase the property. A few were pretty high-powered local business people shopping for family members; I was surprised to see how across-the-board your magazine readership is.

-- Bill Homans, Colchester VT


 

I am pleased to request our house at 8 Whipple Rd, Lebanon, be moved to the ‘under deposit’ category.  We listed our house on a Wednesday in mid June.  We got a call on Thursday from someone who saw the listing at Picket Fence online. THAT"S ONE DAY! Since the magazine has come out, we have received a steady number of calls each week.

   Our house had been on the market for a year and a half.  We tried MLS, a national for sale by owner website (that generated nothing but Nigerian spam ‘offers’), signs, ads and open houses.  A four bedroom colonial in the $500,000’s, our house was a ‘trade up’ house in the deadest part of a slow market. Picket Fence Preview came through with a cost effective way to present our home to interested buyers, and provided excellent resource materials.  I would heartily recommend it.

Sincerely
C. Harrison and Margaret Trumbull

-- Harrison Trumbull, Lebanon NH


“I am writing this note to share my success story of selling my home in Randolph Vermont.  I am pleased to tell you that I sold my home in less than 1 week.  The people who bought my home saw the listing on your internet site prior to July’s publication!   I have received calls daily from people who are eager to see my house!  I would like to take this opportunity to thank Picket Fences for the opportunity that they have given me in saving thousands!!! 
Yes, approximately 14 thousand dollars!!!”
Thank you,

-- Sherri Rosenberg, Randolph Vermont


“All the inquiries we received were from the magazine. Our buyers are local, making an offer after 2 weeks of advertising. The offer price was our asking price! Thanks!”
 

-- Brenda Beaudin, Williamstown VT


“Hi Toni,
Ironically, the day I sent you the email saying we hadn’t had any luck, a couple who saw our ad in Picket Fence -- a couple we hadn’t heard from in a month -- called with an offer. So anyway, the house is under contract...!”

-- Courtney Giknis, Northfield


“It’s Sold! Picket Fence did the job!

I had an amazing response. A real estate agent tried to tell me to put it on the market for $40,000, hoping to get $35,000.

I put it with you at $70,000 and could have probably gotten more!!”

-- Craig Ward, Peacham


"Hi, Bill!  

I have now had four different successes with Picket Fences!  I listed my house in Essex Junction on your website.  I had at least ten calls in the first few days, and four days after the ad appeared, I showed the house to an interested young couple, and we now have a contract.  I am writing to ask you to insert "under contract" beneath the picture of my ad.  Thanks again for this opportunity.”

-- Elizabeth Winters, Essex Junction


“Hi Bill,

All of our homes in Grand Isle have sold!

 We had a lot of traffic from Picket Fence!

So,that means that I’ll get another new ad to you 
for this Friday, plus new web listings.

   

Thanks,
     Jodi

-- Jodi, Champlain Housing Trust


"Thanks for the note, and thanks to Picket Fence for selling our house.  This house was listed with 2 different Real Estate companies over the past  year, to no avail.  I had more action in 2 weeks with Picket Fence than they  had in a year, could have sold a couple more like it, and actually did sell  another home package because of it. Agents kept telling me that the market  I was in was "dead", and they were right. The "Real Estate agent" market is  "dead", not the Real Estate market. We sold for $377,500 and were asking $378,900."

-- Cheryl LeTourneau, St. Alban


“Bill, I was wondering if you could change the status of our property to under contract, on the web site.  In 4 days, we had 3 offers, while our neighbors, selling the same condo through a Realtor have had theirs on the market for 2 months, and counting!

-- Jason Berthe, Williston


The biggest fee that you'll ever pay is a 6 or 7% real estate commission.

-- Words of wisdom


One of the nicest things about selling on our own was that we were in control of the showing schedule. We didn't have to leave the house in the morning and wonder if people were going to look at it. We had an answering machine -- people called -- we called them back and would set up a time at our mutual convenience.

-- Ben Hale, Waitsfield VT


We are under contract but I didn't want to write to say we've sold until we've really sold. The Picket Fence experience is awesome. We definitely prefer to buy and sell our homes direct with other owners...Honestly, your magazine and the popularity of it encouraged us to start dealing direct and it has been the best experience. Now we find that realtors complicate things more than simplify. This process is not that difficult and thank you for providing the service that you do

-- Lori Jacobs, Huntington


"We sold our farm! We are very pleased with the calls we got. We received 8 - 10 calls, mostly from our internet ad. But the buyers came carrying Picket Fence Preview in their hands. A realtor told us we'd never sell this on our own -- I can't wait to tell her she was wrong."  $1,000,000 Sale Price

-- Doris Bushey, Shelburne $1M sales price


I need to cancel my ad -- we've had a change of heart. We had such a tremendous response to our ad, within just hours on the internet, that we're rethinking our plan. We thought we wanted another second home on a different lake, but now we're realizing what a special place we have and don't want to let it go - at least not for now Thanks for everything - you guys were so easy to work with 

-- Win Whitcomb, Groton


It's under deposit to a couple from Washington State - all cash! Then I got another offer from a New Jersey couple for $20,000 more! But since I already agreed to the earlier couple I went with that. I'm glad I didn't waste time with a realtor

-- Diane Coyne, St. Albans


If you purchased your home in the last 5 years, you can't afford to pay 6% in realtor commission fees. If you list your home with an agent you will have to pay to move...the commission will be all of your equity and then some.
Do the arithmetic before you make an expensive mistake. 6% sounds like a small number, but it translates into a big number of dollars when you're applying it to the price of real estate

-- Words of wisdom


“Our house on South Cove Road, Burlington, closed on Monday June 2. Sold! We got a fair price and the new owners are very happy. It took a lot of patience in this market but the time and effort was well worth saving thousands of dollars that would have gone to a realtor!”?

-- Margy Cain, Burlington


“This house was on the market in 2007 from April to October with a realtor - no offers, although some 40 people looked at the house. This year through Picket Fence it was on the market in April and about 25 people have called and it’s under deposit. You’ve been great!”

-- Charles Norris-Brown, Westford


"The buyers are from Barre, they were very familiar with the neighborhood and they saw the house for sale on Picket Fences. They had hired a real estate agent over a year ago but they became increasingly irritated with the realtor’s efforts. Once the contract expired, they started looking on their own. Does this sound familiar! On my end, your book helped a great deal. You were right...it’s not that difficult!?Thank you so much for all the information...it really helped me sell my house on my own...and save me thousands of dollars!”

-- Jeff Chiodi, Barre


“We have had our house advertised for 3 months on Craig’s List, 2 months with a realtor. We had more inquiries in 5 DAYS in Picket Fence, than we had in the previous 5 months. We had an offer on the sixth day, and signed purchase and sales on Day 9! Thanks, we couldn’t be more pleased.” ?

-- Sarah Young, Fairfax


"Our previous listing in Stowe...went under contract. The buyer was a lead developed out of the ad we ran for two months with your publication. Ironically they were one of the first calls we had, but it took about twelve weeks for them to get to a decision. Thought you should know that we were (again) successful using Picket Fences."

-- Darrow Mansfield, Stowe


“Hi Bill, I am the very happy FORMER owner of 62 Seth Circle in Williston. The closing was yesterday. Please mark my internet as as SOLD. If you would like a testimonial, here it is: My townhome was under contract in three weeks and sold in seven weeks this winter (2008), and I saved $10,000 in commissions! I got lots of calls from the internet ad and even more once the magazine came out. Thank you very much”

-- Beth Wright , Williston


Hi Toni, The house we advertised with you is now Under Contract! For your information, the house went under contract on Sunday evening. (less than 2 weeks). We are very pleased with the results from Picket Fence Preview.

-- John King, Thetford VT


Sorry I didn't return the call I am just getting into the office. I have had good luck selling properties in PFP over the years (six houses and counting). Each time we have had good response from the ad with qualified and interested buyers from not only Vt. but out of state and one very interested buyer from England. I also get a number of calls from brokers whose clients see the ad in PFP and still want to work though a broker. None of these have worked out for me. I have always had success with PFP and I recomend it to everyone.  Shelburne 1+ million

-- Brian Precourt, Shelburne


Hello Bill & Staff, I'm pleased to inform you that we have SOLD our home in Hinesburg. When we advertised our open house we had 18 different families come and look and even had some offers that day! We stayed focused on the price and even though the market is soft we sold the property for nearly what we were asking. I would highly recommend anyone to use your services as we saved over $25,000.00 in commissions and were not distracted by commission based decisions! Thank you very much for everything, we greatly appreciate your help in this huge move my family and I have undertaken to Northern California.

-- Brad Smith & family, Hinesburg


The American Dream, to me, isn't that I can buy a house, it is that I can sell my own house!

-- Peggy Russell, Seattle, WA via email


We had 37 people show up to our open house . Three people were very interested, including the one who we signed a contract with. And we met some very nice people too. I was apprehensive about this at first, but it went fine. I think I like it this way (Picket Fence) better. I think buyers like dealing directly with the owner too.

-- Bob Carlson, Burlington, VT